RSS Feed

Wasted Wednesday: Watermelon Mojitos

Posted on

On my recent trip to New Orleans, I had the pleasure of consuming a watermelon mojito. You already know that I love mojitos, so it should come as no surprise that the minute I got home I started experimenting with my own homemade watermelon mojito.

Watermelon Mojito at Jacque Imo's

This recipe is in no way exact. I experimented by making 3 pitchers. Two right in a row, so my judgement may have been a little impaired for that last one. But this is what I found to be the best so far.

Watermelon Mojitos:
– 20-30 mint leaves
– 1-2 limes, juiced (depends on how tart you’d like it)
– 1/2 – 1 cup of sugar
– 1 cup of chopped watermelon (smaller cubes work better as I like to muddle them)
– 1 cup rum
– 2 cups club soda or 7 up
– lots of ice

Muddle your mint leaves and lime juice. Then add sugar. (I found I like to add more sugar to this variation than my regular mojitos.) Muddle again. Add your watermelon and muddle some more. I like to have small chucks that will come up my straw for a tasty surprise. Don’t totally cream your watermelon, just muddle for a few seconds to crush a few and release lots of juciyness. Top with your rum, club soda, and ice. For my 3rd pitcher we ran out of club soda and substituted 7 up. It was delicious, but I’m sure cocktail snobs will totally unfollow us now. Whatever, I liked it. You don’t have to use it.

Serve over ice with a mint sprig. Makes a pitcher.

My first homemade batch - it needed more watermelon


I will continue my research and let you know if I come up with a better concoction.

Have you made watermelon mojitos? What are you tricks and tips?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

