RSS Feed

Foodie Friday: Roasted Sausages and Tomatoes with Balsamic

I crave this dish, possibly because I have a deep love for balsamic vinegar. It’s beautiful, delicious, and most importantly, so incredibly easy. I like easy.

I typically think of this as an autumn meal, but I’m not really sure why. Summer is the perfect time, considering our basil plants are huge and our tomato plants are producing a crop that I’m having trouble being patient enough to let ripen.
Here’s the original recipe: Kayotic Kitchen

Roasted Sausages and Tomatoes with Balsamic

6 beef sausages (or 2 big links)
2 small onions (I use one red and one sweet yellow)
1 pound cherry tomatoes
5 tbsp good quality balsamic vinegar
6 garlic cloves
2 tbsp oil
fresh basil
pepper
salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Peel and thinly slice the garlic. Cut each onion into about 8 wedges. Place the sausages in a large roasting pan with olive oil, onions, and garlic. Season well with salt and pepper, then toss it all around. Bake for about 15 minutes, then add the tomatoes and balsamic vinegar. Place back in the oven and bake til the tomatoes burst and starting falling apart. This typically takes at least 30 minutes for me, but I don’t have a great oven. Once it looks done, take it out and rip the basil all over it. Serve with bread and be prepared to go back for seconds. Or thirds.

 

2 responses »

  1. This looks delish. Makin it!

    Reply
    • I made it yet again on Sunday night! Might have stood over the pan with a fork after dinner to get a few more bites.
      Then I ate peach crisp with whiskey maple cream sauce. It’s like I’m trying to not fit in my wedding dress or something. Oh well.
      -Allyn

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

