RSS Feed

Wasted Wednesday: Peach Slush

I finally tried a new recipe! Hooray! Unfortunately it wasn’t any of the ones I listed last week.  Hey, you take what you can get, especially when what you get is something awesome.

We’ve joined a CSA with my sister and her family, and love getting our share of local fruits and vegetables every week. It’s an awesome way to support small family farms, and a much better option if you’re trying to eat at least somewhat healthy.

While we do love it, and will participate again next year (whose brilliant idea was it to sign up for the summer that we moved, I started a new job, and we’re getting married? Oh right, mine), there are times when the lack of pesticides and whatnot result in less than perfect looking produce. We know that this is a good thing, that we’ve been trained to be attracted to creepy unnaturally perfect food, but it can sometimes be a challenge.

Case in point? Our peaches this week. We got two of the little suckers, and I should have taken a picture. The thing that kept coming to mind was the movie Big Daddy, when the kid asks “Is that the guy with the old balls?” Really mature and classy, I know. The peaches were just a little faded, a little too wrinkled, and little dried out.

Then I came across this recipe, and it called for two peaches! Brilliant!

I threw it into the blender that night, and a new favorite was born.

Peach Slush
makes 3-4 cocktails

  • 2 peaches, peeled and chopped
  • 3 ounces simple syrup
  • Juice of a lemon
  • 2 cups ice
  • 1/4 cup bourbon (I used Gentleman Jack whiskey. Mmmm)
  • 1/4 cup water

Throw it all in a blender and pulverize until smooth.

In all honesty, I think next time I’ll switch out the water for more whiskey (hiccup), but otherwise it was the perfect summer drink, and an awesome way to use up some unattractive balls peaches.

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Wasted Wednesday: Peachy Keen « lollingabout

  2. GrumpyMonkeyPants

    Don’t every do a recipe without having pictures! That is just crazy!

    Reply
    • Sadly, without a good camera, food photos just really don’t turn out well! We’d rather have no photos than have gross photos. Hopefully one day that will change!

      Reply
  3. I cannot wait until I am no longer carrying a bun in the oven so I can make myself one of these! It will be late January before that happens but I am guessing canned peaches will be just as good… :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

