RSS Feed

Foodie Friday: Swamp Shrimp

This summer I decided every week I would try a new shrimp recipe. Surprisingly I have not run out of delicious shrimp recipes and we aren’t sick of shrimp yet!

One of my hobbies is finding and reading specialty, regional cookbooks. I pick them up from relatives or estate sales. Not so long ago I happened across a nice cookbook from the Junior League of Vicksburg, Ambrosia, and flagged this recipe right away. I’m glad I did because it has been the favorite of the summer.

Swamp Shrimp
1 lb medium, headless shrimp, unpeeled
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 cup Worcestershire sauce
1/4 cup bottled Italian dressing
2 lemons
seasoned salt
pepper
4 tablespoons butter

Coat bottom of a 9×13 pan with olive oil. Place shrimp in the pan side by side, try not to overlap. Pour Worchestershire sauce, Italian dressing, and the juice of both lemons over shrimp. Sprinkle with seasoned salt and pepper. Slice butter thinly and distribute over shrimp. Broil 18 – 20 minutes.

Serve with French bread and be prepared to fight over the sauce.

The night I served this my husband cleaned up the dishes, he’s sweet like that. He came in afterwards and confessed that he might have cheated on me with the sauce. I can’t say that I blame him. Its just that good.

14 responses »

  1. I so wish I could eat shrimp without a trip to ER

    Reply
  2. This sounds really yummy and I would like to try it. Only have one question for you. What about the lemons?

    Reply
  3. Pingback: The Summer of Shrimp « lollingabout

  4. I ran across your recipe a few weeks ago and was planning on making this tonight. Do you broil the shrimp unpeeled?? I just wanted to check because I have never done that! Thanks

    Reply
  5. 18 minutes does not over cook them? that seems like a long Broil…just curious. Thank YOU!

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Daisy Chubb's Tea and Treats » Blog Archive » Iced Tea Week: Iced Matcha Latte

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

