RSS Feed

Foodie Friday: The Best Soup in the World

Last fall I stumbled upon the Best Soup in the World. Seriously. This is not a tribute.

The day after I made it I told Allyn I made the Best Soup in the World. She scoffed at first, but finally tried it using one of her dairy substitutes and it became one of her favorites too. I’m not sure if she stands by Best Soup in the World, but in our house it is.

Without further adieu:

The Best Soup in the World, also known as Chipotle Sweet Potato Corn Chowder

  • 5 whole Sweet Potatoes, Roasted And Cubed
  • 2-½ cups Corn (I usually use frozen, but you could do fresh)
  • 8 slices Bacon
  • 1 cup Leeks, Sliced
  • 1 whole Vidalia Or Other Sweet Onion
  • 2 Tablespoons Fresh Thyme
  • 2 Tablespoons Fresh Marjoram
  • 2 boxes Chicken Stock (32oz Each), Divided
  • 2 whole Chipotle Peppers In Adobo Sauce, Finely Chopped
  • 1-½ cup Heavy Cream

 

Wrap sweet potatoes in tin foil; do not pierce and roast in the oven for about 45 minutes to an hour at 375 degrees. Once soft, peel and cube. (Some of these will get smashed and some will not, so cube to your desired size.)

Fry bacon in a dutch oven or other large heavy bottomed pot. Once crispy, remove and set aside, leaving the bacon fat in your pot.

Cook leeks, onion, corn, thyme and marjoram in the bacon fat, stirring constantly until tender.

Add cubed sweet potatoes, 1-1 1/2 boxes of chicken stock, and chipotle peppers; simmer for about 10 to 15 minutes, or until potatoes are tender. Using an immersion blender, blend 1/2-1/3 of the soup. (You want to leave some of the corn and potato cubes whole.) At this point, you can add more chicken stock if needed, keeping in mind that you will still be adding in 1 1/2 cups heavy cream.

Simmer chowder for another 10 minutes, then add heavy cream and combine well. If your chowder seems too thick, add more chicken stock and/or water to thin until you reach the desired consistency. Top with crumbled bacon.

Original source of this brilliance: http://tastykitchen.com/recipes/soups/chipotle-sweet-potato-corn-chowder/

You’re welcome.

3 responses »

  1. “Tribute” reference = awesome. What a good song to get stuck in my head on a Friday.

    This soup sounds good, but unfortunately I don’t have a dutch oven or something comparable (at least I don’t think I do, I’m not much of a cook) or an immersion blender. We do have a regular blender though… Do you think this is a recipe that can be adjusted for things like this, or did it seem like it wouldn’t work out quite so well a different way?

    Reply
    • Yay! I love that someone got that reference!

      You can make it in a stock pot over the stove. I usually use the pot I cook a lot of pasta in. And you can totally use a blender. I didn’t have one the first time I made it. I think I actually like the blender better because it’s a more even consistency.

      Enjoy! – Rachel

      Reply
  2. deopatriaeamicis

    Can’t remember how I ran across your blog and this recipe, but I just tried it since I had a giant sweet potato from the farm stand waiting to be used. And of course, we always have bacon. To run out of that would be tragic.

    The soup was delicious – thanks for sharing the recipe!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

