RSS Feed

Wasted Wednesday: Homemade Kahlua

Allyn and I were talking the other day and the subject of homemade Kahlua came up. Her sister made some for her and Josh for Christmas. I didn’t even know you could make your own!

Searching for DIY projects is where Pinterest really shines. In a few seconds I had several different recipes to try. Ultimately I decided on this one. I liked that it didn’t need weeks to cure and was something I can do pretty easily. My only mishap was breaking the coffee press. That probably had more to do with overusage of the coffee press in the last four years than the recipe itself… maybe even user error, but I don’t think so.

Homemade Kahula
6 cups freshly brewed coffee (this is liquid measuring cups, not coffee cups)
1 lb light brown sugar
3 tablespoons vanilla
1/2 liter Vodka

1. Mix your hot coffee with the brown sugar and stir until dissolved. Let cool.
2. Mix in your vanilla and vodka.
3. Decide on how much you are willing to give to someone else and how much you want to keep for yourself.
4. Bottle.

I wanted to make this as a gift (I really hope my brother-in-law doesn’t read this blog or he won’t be surprised!) and was sort of bummed because I thought I’d have to give it all away. The original recipe states that it makes 1.5 liters and the container I had said it holds 1.5 liters. I’m not sure who was wrong, but we had enough left over to fill a mason jar for our own stock. I plan on giving this as a gift with a pint of cream as the gift receipent loves White Russian cocktails.

I’m sort of curious how it would taste with dark brown sugar or other variations. I may have to experiment and I’ll report back.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

