RSS Feed

Hot Mess: Beauty Blogs

Some people seem to have learned a million ways to do their hair and makeup effortlessly, always having a fun style and easily dressing things up when the occasion arises. These people seem to include many of my friends.

I am not one of those people.

I don’t know if it’s a lack of ability (probably not) or¬†intimidation¬† (probably so), combined with a love of lolling, but I know that I get stuck in beauty ruts for years sometimes, and they tend to be pretty simple/borderline boring. Now that my hair is longer than it’s been in years (see here), this is especially true.

I’m not much of one for New Year’s resolutions, but I do want to try to take more risks and put forth more effort this year and in the future. I want to take more pride in my appearance, and not just hide behind “good enough, with a great personality.”

These are a few of the blogs I’ve found to get me motivated and give me some much-needed direction:

  • The Beauty Department- This might be my new favorite. Fun ideas with lots of tutorials. Especially great about hair. I need tutorials.
  • The Concerns of Mindy Kaling- Oh how do I love Mindy? Let me count the ways… This blog is awesome. She’s hilarious, and she actually has some great fashion tips/reviews. Some of it is a little out of my price range for sure, but she’s definitely no GOOP.
  • What the Frock?¬†– Dana used to work for Anthropologie, and has flown all over as a wardrobe stylist. She emphasizes super affordable pieces, and isn’t afraid to use bold colors. Love her.

These are just three of my favorites for now. Hopefully they’ll help me start this little journey of mine.

Anyone have any other favorites? Help a girl out!

2 responses »

  1. If you’re on Pinterest, you’ve probably seen hair tutorials from The Small Things Blog floating around. She has some great videos on her site – http://www.thesmallthingsblog.com/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

