RSS Feed

Foodie Friday: Ramen Soup, sorta

When we first married I wasn’t much of a cook. I loved good food, I just didn’t know how to make it. It took a bit of education before I felt somewhat comfortable in the kitchen. One of the big influences in my cooking was Mark Bittman and his legendary book, How to Cook Everything. I became a huge Mark Bittman fan that first year or so. He had a great column in The New York Times called the Minimalist. Its great for people, who like me, enjoy good food, but don’t have or want to spend the time and energy. Its simple, delicious food.

I bookmarked this video and decided it would make a perfect Saturday lunch. You know when you have been cleaning the house all morning, but can’t bring yourself to eat any more of that casserole and just want something fresh and comforting? I’ve adapted it over the years and made it my own. My husband loves it. He mentioned it the other day asking why I haven’t made it for him in a long time.

Ramen, sort of (Allyn says its more noodle soup, I still call it ramen)

Noodles, I use ramen
Chicken broth or water
ketchup
soy sauce
rice vinegar
chili paste or chiles
siracha
Optional: frozen veggies, fresh herbs, cooked meat, anything in your pantry

Bring 2 cups of chicken broth or water to a boil. Season with 1/4 cup of ketchup, a couple of tablespoons of soy sauce, a tablespoon or two of rice vinegar, and maybe some chili paste. I literally do not measure anything. I throw in whatever looks good from my pantry. Stir it up.

When the water is boiling add in your noodles. I always use a packet of ramen. Two if I’m feeding my husband.

Cook for about 2-3 minutes until the noodles are done. Ladle into a bowl and top with siracha or your seasoning of choice.

Occasionally I throw in a cup or so of frozen veggies if I want to feel healthy. You can’t mess this up. Be creative and make it your own.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

