RSS Feed

Wasted Wednesday: White Sangria

So I decided on white sangria for my self-imposed Pinterest Challenge.

Source: latimes.com via Rachel on Pinterest


Above is the original pin. Apparently its from some place in California. I know nothing about anything west of the Mississippi, so I’ll just take their word for it.

White Sangria

2 bottles dry white wine, preferably Pinot Grigio
3/4 cup orange juice
1/2 cup triple sec
1/4 cup brandy
1/2 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 orange, sliced
1 lemon, sliced

In a large pitcher whisk together orange juice, triple sec, and brandy. Pour in as much of the white wine as you can. I was only able to get some of one oversize bottle in. Add sugar and vanilla extract and whisk until the sugar is dissolved. Add the sliced fruit. Serve over ice with fruit garnishes.

Note: original recipe also called for apple slices and grapes. My pitcher topped out before I could add the apple and grapes, so I just skipped them and added a couple of grapes in my glass.

white_sangria

Watch out, its a little boozy. I made this after work, but before dinner and was a little tipsy after one glass. Its especially decadent in your great grandmother’s crystal.

Also note that I used what the original recipe called for in orange juice. Next time I’ll tone it down and use what is written above.

Recommended usages: brunch, luncheons, showers, lolling about outdoors

Have you made a Pinterest cocktail lately?

2 responses »

  1. Oh I so need to make this. It looks so yummy!

    Reply
  2. Yummy! I love sangria, any color, and it’s such a summery drink no matter when you imbibe. Way to go, and thanks for linking up with the Winter Pinterest Challenge!

    Erin

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

