RSS Feed

Wasted Wednesday: Coconut Lime Ginger Cocktail

So I tried a new drink recipe last night, thinking that it would be a liquid version of that heavenly coconut lime verbena lotion that always makes me think of the beach.

The recipe comes from eat make read and the jury is still out on how I feel about it.

In complete fairness, I didn’t have the light rum the recipe calls for, so I used dark rum instead, resulting in a somewhat less pleasing appearance. I’m not sure how much this would change the taste. It does pack quite the punch, which I consider a very good thing. I do think I’ll make it again, especially since we already have ginger syrup in the fridge, because we’re special like that. You know how we love a good infused syrup!

Here’s the recipe:

  • 1 oz ginger syrup (recipe below)
  • 1/2 oz lime juice
  • 1.5 oz unsweetened coconut milk
  • 1.5 oz light rum

Pour all ingredients into a cocktail shaker filled with ice. Shake for about 10 seconds until well chilled, then pour into a glass. I strained mine, since my coconut milk had a few tiny lumps, but that might not be necessary. Enjoy!

Ginger Syrup

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh ginger

Combine ingredients in a small saucepan on high until boiling. Reduce heat and simmer for 15 minutes. Strain out the ginger and let cool. Keep in fridge.

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

