RSS Feed

Weekend Update: Saturday Morning

Saturday mornings are our special time. We sleep in, cook a big breakfast, and hang out before Josh goes to work (boo).

One of our favorite easy breakfasts is egg in a hole. I grew up eating it. It was one of the few things my dad ever cooked, and I learned how to very young. When Josh and I started dating, I introduced him to it, and he has grown to love it just like I do.

This morning I decided to mix it up little. I cooked them up the usual way (PW has a good “recipe” for them here), and instead of just serving them as is, I added sliced avocado, a few dashes of hot sauce, and a sprinkle of sea salt. Make sure you leave the yolk runny, and enjoy!

8 responses »

  1. Oh this looks good!! Adding the avacado is brilliant!

    Reply
  2. ‘Egg in a Hole’, what a great name for a meal. Looks delicious!

    Reply
  3. Peggy Ann Everett

    lollingabout,
    My grandmother also called it the aforementioned racist term, so my mother changed it to our now (regularly ordered) egg-N-toast. This provides us with a constant source for the liquid gold that is the runny egg yolk (& crispy, buttery toast covered in the gold) without having to offend people who do not have two working eyes or are from a continent I want to visit someday. :-)
    PA

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

