RSS Feed

Foodie Friday: Comeback Sauce

Posted on

Unless you’ve spent some serious time in Mississippi, you’ve likely never heard of Comeback Sauce. There is this great restaurant in Jackson, the Mayflower (it was in The Help), that serves Comeback Sauce on their iceberg salad. After one of our initial visits there, my parents bought a container of the sauce. I spent an entire summer living off of blt’s slatered in that comeback sauce.

We moved out of Mississippi years ago and it wasn’t until a few months ago that I had comeback sauce again. Ever since then I’ve been looking at recipes planning on one day making it myself. This week it happened.

Comeback Sauce (also known as Kum-Back Sauce)
Recipe from Bayou Cuisine published by St. Stephen’s Episcopal Church in Indianola, MS.

4 garlic cloves, finely chopped
1 cup mayo
1/4 cup chili sauce (found on the condiment aisle near the ketchup)
1/4 cup ketchup
1 tsp worcestershire sauce
1/4 cup Wesson oil
dash of tabasco
dash of paprika
juice of grated onion (or 1/4 onion very finely chopped)
2 tablespoon water
1 tsp prepared mustard

Mix all ingredients in a jar or bowl and store in the fridge. Great on a salad, on a sandwich, or as my dad eats it, spread over a saltine.

I still plan on trying the other recipes for Comeback Sauce that I’ve bookmarked, but this ensures that at least I’ve got a jar in the fridge until I find the recipe for me. Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

