Foodie Friday: Sriracha Fried Rice

Posted on

We love fried rice. A lot. It’s one of my favorite easy meals. If I know I’m going to be making some, I’ll typically make a pot of rice on Sunday and then make the fried rice later in the week, since older, slightly dried out rice is best (NEVER make fried rice with fresh cooked rice. It’ll be mushy. Gross). While this recipe has become a frequent visitor in our home, I’ve added another to the list.

The main flavor?

Sriracha. Or Rooster Sauce. Or the crazy hot red sauce in Asian restaurants. Whatever you call it, we love it.

Even better? You put a fried egg on top of your bowl of fried rice. Um, fried egg with a runny yolk on just about anything makes me a very happy girl.

The measurements for this make one serving. I doubled it and then added a little more rice so Josh and I each had a huge bowl and some leftover.

Spicy, savoury, and starchy. That’s comfort food for me.

Sriracha Fried Rice (original recipe here)

  • 3 Tbsp 0il
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • ½ c chopped cabbage
  • 1 Tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 Tbsp Sriracha (cut in half if you’re a wuss)
  • 2 cups old cooked rice
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 egg

Heat oil and add the garlic. Sauté for a few seconds and add the cabbage. Sauté until it is crisp-tender.

Add the soy sauce and Sriracha and mix. Add the rice and cook until the rice grains are mostly separated and well coated.

Finally add sesame oil, mix and remove from heat.

In another pan, heat a little butter and add the egg. Sprinkle with a little salt. When it is set, flip and cook for about 20 seconds. I like a runny yolk. Feel free to cook it longer if you don’t.

Serve the rice hot with the fried egg on top.

Leave a comment