RSS Feed

Foodie Friday: In Love with Beans

Josh and I recently discovered the true delight of cooking with dried beans. While they do require more time, they aren’t actually any harder to deal with, and the difference between opening a can of beans or cooking a big batch of beans from scratch can’t be emphasized enough.

Typically I set our beans out to soak in cold water overnight on Saturday night and cook a bean dish on Sunday. This works really well for our schedule. I spend most Sundays in the kitchen anyway, cooking up breakfasts and lunches for the week ahead, so keeping an eye on a pot of beans is no trouble at all. It makes Josh super happy to come home from work (yes, he works weekends. Total bummer) to a house that smells amazing and a nice hearty dinner ready for him.

Here are some of our current favorite recipes:

I’m sure that as the weather outside starts to hopefully one day cool down, we’ll be finding even more recipes. Beans are cheap, nutritious, and endlessly versatile. I fully intend to grow and dry my own next year, and to also order a bunch from Rancho Gordo over the coming months. Big plans.

Anyone else have any favorite bean recipes? I’m a recipe junkie.

 

 

3 responses »

  1. Oooh I love beans and I am always looking for new recipes. Thanks for sharing these! I am sure I will be spending a lot of time in the kitchen this week.

    Hannah from I am a lifestyle blog

    Reply
  2. I haven’t heard the words beanie wienies since I moved from the states to Australia more than 15 years ago. I love beans too!

    Reply
    • I know! Every time I say the name I laugh. You should make them and introduce all of your Australian friends to the joy. They’d be perfect for your colder weather right now.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

