RSS Feed

Travel: Atlanta

Since Josh and I are gearing up to hit San Francisco soon, I thought it was time to recap our trip to Atlanta. Better later than never, right?

We stayed two nights in the Midtown area, and pretty much just ate our way through the city. My phone kept dying, so I only took a few pictures. Note to self: always bring the camera.

Here are the highlights!

HD1-

The best hot dogs ever. The best sides. If we lived here, I think we’d go on an almost weekly basis. My lamb hot dog was SO GOOD. It was our first stop as soon as we hit Atlanta, and was our favorite.

Flip Burger- started by the same guy who created HD1, these were some great burgers. Killer onion rings. The milkshakes looked so good, but I was stuffed, and since Josh can’t have dairy, I knew I couldn’t count on him to finish what I couldn’t. Sigh. Maybe next time.

Top FLR- Our drinks stop our first night. We sat at the bar and had a long talk with the bartender. He handcrafts so many of the ingredients that go into his cocktails, and could not have been nicer. I was being indecisive and let him make me two random drinks. Both were delicious. I love that in a bartender.

Octane Coffee- Our fuel of choice through the trip. We’d both order iced coffee and split a pastry. Perfect.

Waikikie Hawaiian BBQ-

Since this is the closest Hawaiian restaurant for us, it is pretty much a requirement for my Hawaiian husband to go there whenever we’re in Atlanta. the food is not exactly what you would call healthy by any means, but it is tasty. Yes, Spam is on the menu, and yes, we definitely ordered some:

Spam Musubi is basically Spam sushi, and while it’s good here, Josh’s homemade version is my favorite. This is the only way I’ve ever had Spam, and I’m really okay with that fact.

Malaya- Malaysian food. If there’s ever a Malaysian place, we go. We haven’t had any since New York, so it was long overdue. The roti and the rendang are legit. Wish they delivered here.

Proof & Provision- Our drink stop the second night.

Lots of potential. Great atmosphere. I liked my drink, Josh not so much. Will definitely go back and try some of the food next time as well.

Hong Kong Harbour- We went here for Dim Sum.

I wouldn’t say it’s the best. Not bad, but not the best. I think the main problem is that the place just isn’t busy enough to keep the food really fresh. Oh well.

We also hit up Ikea for some curtains, and the Atlanta Aquarium, which is SO COOL. I would go back in a heartbeat!

It was so nice to get a few days away without having to spend the money to fly somewhere. We’re going to start researching some more places that are just a 4-5 hour drive from us, because sometimes you just need a little break.

Anyone else have a favorite weekend getaway? Suggestions for San Francisco?

7 responses »

  1. The House of Prime Rib in SF. Seriously- its out of this world. Pricey, but so, so, so worth it. Although it will most likely ruin all other prime rib for you. So, fair warning on that one!

    Reply
    • Haha. Thanks for the warning! I saw Anthony Bourdain go there and it looked seriously amazing. Drool worthy. I’m really hoping we can make it happen!

      Reply
      • Not sure when you are going but you will need reservations! Check their website it shows all the openings they have by half-hour. Mmmmm…maybe I need to schedule a little vacation too….(its only a 2.5 hour drive for me!)

  2. For some reason The Husband and I never think to head to ATL for a road trip from Nashville. Some of these restaurants, however, have made me think twice! I spent 6 years growing up in Hong Kong and miss dim sum [and good Malaysian food, too!] like crazy. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
    • My husband lived in Hong Kong for 5 years, and Kuala Lampur for 5 years, so we’re in the same boat! The trip to Atlanta is about 4 hours and super easy. You should really do it! Though maybe wait til it cools down a little.

      Reply
  3. I used to live right around the corner from Malaya! I miss that place…now we’re too far out from the city, though. Next time you are going through Atlanta and want to try some Mexican – Nuevo Laredo Cantina. Always delicious and great fresh salsa (and the house margaritas are good!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

