RSS Feed

Wasted Wednesday: Lemon Drops

Much like Rachel and mojitos, lemon drops are a drink that I ADORE, and never ever order when I go out. The swill that they normally try to pass off as a lemon drop typically doesn’t even contain anything remotely resembling the juice of an actual lemon. I’m sorry, citrus vodka does not cut it.

When I get a lemon drop, I want it to be sour enough to make me pucker up slightly after that delicious first sip, simply reinforcing my need for another sip. And another sip. I want to KNOW, without a doubt, that lemon juice is a key ingredient. A perfect lemon drop is simple as can be, with only 3 ingredients necessary: lemon, sugar, vodka. A sprig of mint is allowed upon occasion, but that’s about as far as I’ll take it.

Here is my favorite, ahem, rather potent lemon drop recipe. I like to think of it as liquid summer. I typically squeeze the juice from enough lemons from the start to allow me to go back and mix quite a few more drinks before having to think about do any sort of manual labor again. I do like mine rather tart, so you might want to add a little more sugar to taste.

Lolling Lemon Drops

(Makes 1 drink)
Juice of 3 lemons
2 oz vodka
2 tbsp sugar

Shake it all together with ice, then strain into a sugar-rimmed martini glass. Garnish with mint leaves, though we rarely have any around.

Repeat as necessary.

3 responses »

  1. Yum! I like your style of lemon drop =) Will definitely be indulging in one of these this weekend!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Foodie Friday: Vodka Sauce « lollingabout

Leave a Reply

