RSS Feed

Foodie Friday: Pasta with pancetta and leeks

My parents were in town for a few days this week and we decided to have everyone over for dinner to break in the new house. I knew I wanted to make something tasty that everyone would like (six adults and two kiddos), but I also knew I wanted it to be relatively cheap and simple to make. I really didn’t feel like spending the day cooking. Not conducive for lolling.
I decided to break out my trusty adaptation of this Pioneer Woman recipe. Hers calls for a whole lotta cream and cheese and other things that are delicious, but not so great for my dairy allergic fiance, or for my desire to fit into my wedding dress in August.

My version does, however, contain a lot more wine. Win!

I increased the amounts by half for that many people, but this is normally how much I make.

Pasta With Pancetta and Leeks

  • 12 ounces, weight pasta, cooked al dente  (I used farfalle)
  • 5 ounces, weight chopped pancetta
  • 3 whole leeks, sliced thin
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 1 cup dry white wine

Boil pasta and set aside.

Saute chopped pancetta until fat is rendered and it starts to brown. Add sliced leeks and cook for 8 minutes. Pour in wine, and cook til somewhat reduced. Add butter, and cook an additional 2 minutes. Pour over drained pasta, and serve.

We served this with a giant pitcher of an incredibly fresh drink (recipe to come), and the platter was scraped clean.

I think they liked it.

2 responses »

  1. Um, this looks freakin delicious. I’ve never cooked with pancetta before… which is about to change.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

