RSS Feed

Guilty Pleasure: Wedding Blogs

When I first got engaged back in February, I started subscribing to various wedding blogs, because that’s just what you do.  or something.

My initial idea was to look through millions of pictures and ideas to find inspiration for my own upcoming (5 days!!!!) wedding. While I did get some inspiration, I started to get, well, bored. I’m not someone who’s been planning her wedding for her entire life, nor do I really care beyond a certain point about it. The marriage is what I’m SUPER excited about (and the honeymoon! Details to come), so there were only so many pictures of bouquets that I really wanted to see.

Then, one day, I discovered the voyeuristic pleasure that is “how we met/engagement stories” on Weddingbee.

I know that some people are thinking how sweet and sappy that is, but I have to confess that what I love most are the absolute train wrecks that some of these girls post about! I understand that we all have different stories, and some have bumpier roads than others, but HOLY CRAP, the stuff that people are willing to tell the world, much less experience and stay with each other, constantly blows my mind. Sometimes I just want to yell “DON’T DO IT!”

I won’t single anyone out (because that would be…mean?), but let’s just say that I’ve seen people discuss their mental illnesses, the incarceration of siblings, numerous infidelities… the list goes on and on.

So, today, in honor of my wedding week, I suggest you go through and try to find some of the good ones. If nothing else, it should make you feel better about any issues you and your beloved might have.

 

4 responses »

  1. Back in 2000 and 2001 – in the days leading up to my own wedding – I actively participated in the message boards on a pretty popular wedding site. Every day I’d log off the computer so thankful for my fiance, now husband. Some of those men were real charmers. And some of those women were dumb as door posts. But mostly I was convinced that a large majority of the people on that site were looking forward to the big party and being the center of attention, not the marriage that would be the result of the union. I’ve since learned that SEVERAL of those couples have gone on to get divorced, including one lady whose husband left her nine days after the wedding. You have to wonder about some people, but I guess there’s never any accounting for taste. 😀

    Reply
  2. Congratulations on your upcoming wedding! I’m sure it’s going to be fabulous. I hope you’ll share some pics when it’s all said and done 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

