RSS Feed

Book Worm: What I read at the beach

Allyn and I are both book worms. I’m kind of surprised we haven’t already posted something about books and/or reading. The one thing I was most looking forward to during vacation was the ability to sit for hours and read.

Pre-trip I ordered a ton of books from my Amazon Wish List. I figured 6 was a good round number. I managed to finish 4 and started in on 5, which wasn’t too bad for me.

Here’s what I read:

The Help by Kathryn Stockett
It has been on my to-read list for the last couple of years. With the movie being out, I was finally spurred on to read it. I’m glad I did. It was one of those books where I was totally immersed in the time period, the place, and the characters.

The History of Love by Nicole Krauss
A well written love story featuring a young girl, a mourning mother, and an old man. I’d recommend this to anyone, including husbands.

The Brontes went to Woothworths by Rachel Ferguson
A whimsical story of three sisters. This lighty and frothy novel is the perfect beach read. Allyn, you need to read this if you haven’t already. It reminds me a good deal of our high school adventures.

Cooking for Mr. Latte: A Food Lover’s Courtship, with Recipes by Amanda Hesser
A sweet memoir of courtship and food, packed with delicious recipes. It made me swear to start throwing more dinner parties.

What have you read lately?

3 responses »

  1. Followed you home from your comment on PW’s website. First post I came to here was the one on books. Ah, sister of the mind-and-preferences, I have found you. The only way I found time for enough reading was to retire. I am a professional loll-er, now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

