RSS Feed

Wasteful Wednesday: Makeup

Hi.

My name is Allyn, and I’m a product whore.

It’s sad, but so very true.

I love makeup. More specifically, I love the hunt for a new perfect type of makeup.

Sephora? It’s like a crack den. Or a candy store. Candy store sounds better I think.

Over the years I have thrown away countless half used (even just barely used) products. I’ll try just about anything I read about, or is recommended to me, or I just think has pretty packaging. I am the ultimate consumer in this area.

However, there are a few products that I keep coming back to, time and again, and they’re helping me with my problem:

Urban Decay 24/7 Concealer in CIA ($16)

This is one of the best concealers I’ve ever used. I think it comes it 4 shades, but, let’s be honest, my tan moments are few and far between, so I pretty much stick with the fairest of the fair. It’s great for the bags under my eyes, and for any nasty splotches on my face. This is one product that I really wish I didn’t have a need for, but since I do, I’m glad I found it. One pencil typically lasts me at least six months, if not more.

NARS blush in Orgasm ($27)

This color has become iconic, and for good reason. It’s the perfect peachy pink to give me natural color, whatever the season. It also has a subtle gold shimmer to it, just for a little glow (Side note: I once tried it in Super Orgasm (ha), and it had huge gold flecks in it. Beware). While this is definitely more expensive than anything I would get at Target, one of these lasted me almost 2 years. Worth it.

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion in Sin ($19)

Confession time: I have oily eyelids. Gross, I know. This has made it almost impossible for me to wear any sort of eye makeup besides mascara for years, since it would all smudge off within the hour, until I found this beauty. I put this over my whole eyelid (a little goes a long way), let it dry, and then anything I put on over it will last all freaking day. Amazing. Added bonus? It comes in several colors (Sin is a “shimmering champagne”) besides nude, meaning it can totally negate the need for any eyeshadow at all. Once again, a container of this lasts me at least six months, and it means that I can wear eye makeup, so it’s worth its weight in gold.

Bobbi Brown Long-wear Gel Eyeliner in Chocolate Shimmer ($21)

This stuff is awesome. You can apply it however you want, smudge it to your heart’s content, but once it’s set, it’s set. I still have some on in the morning. I first started buying it years ago, then for some reason stopped in favor of pencil liners, which was stupid. I just bought a new pot of it, and hello lover! I missed you so. All that to say, I’m not exactly sure how long it’ll last me, but I know I’ll be buying it again regardless (Side note: buy the eyeliner brush that Bobbi Brown makes for it. So great).

Maybelline Volum’ Express One-by-One Mascara in Blackest Black ($6.49)

Once upon a time, I was hooked on DiorShow mascara. Loved it, would never let it go. Until I realized that I was spending $24.50 on mascara every 2-3 months. Ouch. I tried a lot of cheaper mascaras at Target, and almost gave up, until I discovered this one. I can layer this stuff on and make my lashes look fantastic. It lasts just about as long, and I feel zero guilt when I have to buy more. Plus, it gives me an excuse to go to Target. Not that I need one.

How about you? Any products you just can’t live without? You know I’m always on the market for something new!

Like I said, I have a problem.

3 responses »

  1. I second that Urban Decay eye primer! That stuff is the jam!

    Reply
  2. An Urban Decay fan, huh? Just can’t get enough crazy colors and sparkles? I have the same weakness. Also, if my 3-year-old sees me applying it, she insists that I put some on her. And I do. Number one, she is very persistent. Number two, it teaches her words like “Asphyxia.” That HAS to be a good thing, in the long run!! RIGHT!?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

