RSS Feed

Pinterest Rules

I love Pinterest! Its the best thing since sliced bread. Not really, but almost.

One of the blessings and curses of Pinterest is that it links with your Facebook friends. I’ve been on Facebook for over six years now and have accumulated a variety of friends from all walks of life. I am so thankful for all the people I’ve encountered in my life, but some people just have really poor taste.

Instead of having to deal with a bunch of crafts, pictures of other people’s babies, and dresses I’m never going to wear I’ve set a few rules to who and what I follow. If I wanted to see people’s babies, I’d look at Facebook.

1. Boards that feature photo ideas are unfollowed. I’m not a professional photographer, nor do I regularly hire them for family photo shoots. Photo shoot inspiration pictures do not apply to me and will be quickly unfollowed. I don’t care if it is a cute idea.

Source: flickr.com via Kristen on Pinterest

 

2. Crafty crafts. I learned to knit and I’m fairly DIY, but I don’t do crafts. Especially kids crafts. If you post crafts for kids, that board is going to be quickly unfollowed.

 

Source: mrsosterman.blogspot.com via Ryan on Pinterest

 

3. Boards that feature dresses, be they bridal or bridesmaids or just because. I do not need to see 15 different bridal inspiration photos. (If I still worked in the bridal dress industry I probably would be all over it. I’ve seen enough wedding gowns in my day.)

Source: usangels.com via Julia on Pinterest

 
 
4. Cute animal pictures. Really? Are we still 5?

Source: foolsavenue.com via Karlee on Pinterest

5. People that post all of these are immediately unfollowed altogether.

One of the great things about Pinterest is that it can be what you make it. I totally respect the fact that some people like to collect pictures of cute animals and babies, but that’s not what I want to see on my home screen.

What are your rules for Pinterest?

5 responses »

  1. I don’t know that I have any rules of Pinterest just yet… wait, maybe one. “I don’t want to be found by people that I know that I don’t want to have to follow and that I don’t want to follow me.” When I signed up, I linked it to my Twitter account because I don’t really use Twitter anymore, so I’m not really connected with people on there. After I had my Pinterest account, I went back into my preferences and removed the link to that account (which I’m pretty sure you could do with your Facebook account if you want to lay low too). I’ll occasionally search for friends using that feature and see if any of my contacts or Facebook friends have Pinterest. I did find a couple cool people that way, but I have no idea if they know that I’m the person that is following them or if they think it’s just a random stranger, haha. The thing with Pinterest being so open privacy-wise means that I can’t hide pins or boards from people, so I really don’t want people to even know I’m on it. My friend and I were trying to keep Pinterest our little secret — any time a friend mentioned it on Facebook, we’d be like, “Crap, now someone else found it.” So I use a different email address for it, I don’t use my last name, I shorten my first name, and I don’t put my location on there. People might figure out who I am based on a couple of the people I follow, but hopefully it wouldn’t be too easy for someone to find me. 🙂

    And I have to admit, part of me is still 5 and loves a cute animal every now and again. 🙂 I don’t seek them out on the internet, but if I see a picture on Pinterest that makes me smile, I’ll repin it. Because really, that’s what it’s all about to me — Pinterest is like my happy place, so if something makes me happy, then I pin it.

    Reply
    • I tend to unfollow people pretty quickly, but I haven’t tried changing my name.

      For me I like to use Pinterest to pin design inspiration. Its totally what you make it, which is awesome. For all the young moms who want crafts for their kids, its a great tool. Animals are pretty cute. I just take an obsessive amount of photos of my own to satisfy my inner 5-year old. -Rachel

      Reply
  2. someone keeps pinning manicure ideas for every holiday, occasion, day of the week. not my thing! i must get to the bottom of it…

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Pinterest: Bringing out my inner 12 year old « lollingabout

Leave a Reply

