RSS Feed

Wasted Wednesday: Fall Sangria

I’ll never forget the first time I had sangria. It was down at the beach at one of my very favorite restaurants, it was the first time we went for dinner. They have a lovely patio under  an ivy canopy and played swing music. I think I ordered some sort of chicken dish with a chocolate sauce and of course a couple of glasses of sangria.

The beauty of sangria is there are a million different varieties and personalizations. My sister-in-law makes one that will satiate a thousand people and has three or four different juices.  Last year at one of our favorite local places I had a fall sangria. It involved a white wine and apples. I loved the taste and simpleness of it and have tried to recreate it several times. I happened upon this recipe a few weeks ago. It had been on my mind ever since.

Fall Sangria

  • 2 cups of fruit, chopped  (I used two gala apples)
  • 1 lemon, chopped
  • 1 small bottle brandy
  • 2 tablespoons powdered sugar
  • 2 bottles red or white wine (I used a cab and siraz, it’s what I had on hand)
  • 1 cup simple syrup

Put your chopped fruit in a bowl and cover with brandy. You probably won’t use the whole bottle. Add in the sugar and stir. Cover and refrigerate for at least 4 hours, overnight is better. I only had about 5 hours and it was just fine.

When you are ready to serve mix the fruit with the wine. Gradually add the simple syrup tasting occasionally to see if its just right. You will know when its ready when it starts tasting like a sweet sangria and not a cold wine. I used the whole cup, but its up to your preference and taste.

Serve chilled or over ice.

Source: Three Many Cooks

Leave a Reply

