RSS Feed

Pinterest: Bringing out my inner 12 year old

I love Pinterest. Its a great way to save inspiration, collect DIY or recipe ideas, and see what your friends are inspired by. But there is just one thing that bothers me about it (besides the endless stream of cute baby animals and stupid crafts). Privacy is not an option.

Sure, the whole purpose is to share ideas, blah blah blah. I get that. But some ideas I don’t want to share.

For instance, it’s that time of year again and I’m thinking about our Christmas card. Bryan and I don’t do the normal Christmas card or Shutterfly photo card. That’s much too easy, er boreing, for us. Last year we totally outdid ourselves and now I’m feeling the pressure to come up with something great.

Enter Pinterest. It’s an amazing source of inspiration. I spent several hours one Saturday morning looking on Pinterest and the web for ideas. I’d love to save them to a board, but I want it to be private. I don’t want to ruin the surprise for my friends an family. So instead I saved them to a folder on my desktop.

There are other times too, I’ll admit it. Some decorating or DIY ideas that I’m too selfish to share. Its like when we were little and we wouldn’t want to tell someone our good idea in fear that they would steal it. Like baby names. I knew I shouldn’t have told Allyn my chosen baby names (in case I ever decide to procreate), but I did. And now she wants one of my names. What if I don’t want a sister-in-law to steal my Christmas dining room table centerpiece, damnit.

Does anyone else have the same feelings on this? I think you should have the option to make some boards or pins private. Am I wrong or just childish?

Leave a Reply

