RSS Feed

Foodie Friday: Korean Beef Tacos

I made these last weekend when I had a bunch of family over (guinea pigs! yay!), and they all wanted the recipe afterwords. Always a good sign.
This is seriously one of the easiest meals over, considering you pretty much dump a ton of stuff in the crock pot and leave it alone all day. Perfect for feeding large groups, since you can easily increase the amounts of everything to provide for more people.
I served this with corn tortillas, cilantro, asian slaw (a bag of broccoli slaw mix with some rice vinegar, soy sauce, salt and pepper to taste) and sweet chili sauce, with a big bowl of cilantro rice beside it, and let everybody go to town.
So, so good.

Original recipe here

Korean Beef Tacos

  • 3-4 pounds beef roast
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup soy sauce
  • 10 or so peeled cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 1 inch fresh grated ginger (I always grate without peeling. I’m a rebel)
  • 2 tablespoons seasoned rice wine vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon sesame oil
  • 1 jalapeno, diced (I seeded mine as well, since my niece and nephew were eating with us. Feel free to leave the seeds in for some heat)

Then, and this is the tricky part, put the beef in a crockpot, mix together all of the other ingredients, pour on top of the beef, put the lid on, turn the crock pot to low, and walk away for 8 to 10 hours. I actually turned the beef over a few times throughout the cooking time, to ensure that it all got to soak in the amazing sauce. I then took out the huge chunks of meat (I increased the recipe by a good bit when I cooked it), shredded it with two forks, and then put it back in the juice.

Everyone served themselves from the crockpot and assembled their own tacos. We wound up just eating the yummy rice on the side. If I had any advice, it’d be to double up on the corn tortillas, since ours kept breaking and making a delicious mess.

5 responses »

  1. I think you’ve just sorted my Saturday night out for me. The kids are having a bunch of their friends round … this is perfect, methinks 🙂

    Reply
  2. This was a hit with my family. Will be making it again. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

