RSS Feed

Thanksgiving Tradition: Friends

In college I got really into Friends. I bought all the seasons on DVD. While I don’t watch them all the time anymore, I have one yearly tradition in which I bring them all out. Thanksgiving.

Some of the very best episodes are Thanksgiving episodes. Every year about a week before Thanksgiving we watch a couple of episodes a night in preparation for our big meal. Here’s a recap:

Season 1: The One Where Underdog Gets Away
Everyone would rather be somewhere else, Monica has a meltdown, and Underdog gets away.
Favorite moment: When Monica and Joey split a grilled cheese sandwhich, Joey wishes for the large half.

Season 2: The One with the List
Not really Thanksgiving-y so I usually skip it.

Season 3: The One with Football
Monica and Ross bring up old childhood rivalry over the pigskin.
Favorite moment: When Rachel goes “really long” and gets a pretzel. I’d totally do that too.

Season 4: The One with Chandler in a Box
To try to salvage their friendship Chandler spends Thanksgiving in a box.
Favorite saying: His reasons were threefold. I say this all the time.

Season 5: The One with all the Thanksgivings
This is my very favorite Friends episode. I won’t spoil it for you.
Favorite moment: The whole episode is classic, but if I had to pick it would be Rachel and Monica rubbing weird things on their body trying to be sexy. I also do this all the time… not really, but it’s happened a few times. Nothing turns my husband on more than rubbing a mac and cheese box on me.

Season 6: The One Where Ross Got High
When Monica’s parents spend Thanksgiving with the friends it comes out that Ross blamed Chandler for his getting high.
Favorite moments: Phoebe’s obsession with Monica and Ross’ dad and the traditional English trifle.

Season 7: The One Where Chandler Doesn’t Like Dogs
Eh, this is my least favorite of the Thanksgiving episodes. Chandler doesn’t like dogs and Phoebe is secretly dog sitting in the apartment.

Season 8: The One With the Rumor
Brat Pitt spends Thanksgiving with the gang. One of my top 10 favorite episodes. He hates Rachel Green.
Favorite part: Brad Pitt

Season 9: The One With Rachel’s Other Sister
Rachel’s other sister visits and Chandler convinces Monica to use their wedding china.
Favorite moment: the last scene where Chandler breaks all the plates.

Season 10: The One with the Late Thanksgiving
The bittersweet last Friends Thanksgiving. Everyone is late causing a riff between the Bings and everyone else.
Favorite moment: The floating heads.

What is your favorite Friends episode? Do you have a Thanksgiving tradition?

2 responses »

  1. Is it because your name is Rachel?!

    I kid, I kid! What a great tradition!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

