RSS Feed

Things That Drive Us Crazy: Bluetooth Headsets

I am not a fan of the Bluetooth headset.

Or rather, I’m not a fan of the attitude of Bluetooth users.

I understand wanting one to be “safe” in your car (though, let’s be honest, you’re still every bit as distracted. Now you’re just distracted with two free hands), but using them when out shopping or going into work is ridiculous and annoying.

Back in the day, I used to work at a boutique in Memphis, and there was a certain type of customer who would come in using theirs. My boss was a little crazy psycho about having impeccable customer service, so I of course greeted everyone within about 5 seconds of entering the store.

The user would then glare at me and jab their finger at their head, like I was an idiot for not noticing the tiny device that they had stuck in their ear.

Sorry ma’am, but I don’t tend to stare at people’s ears. They just don’t do much for me.

Even now, working in an office building, there are few things that annoy me more than to hear someone say “hello!” and respond in kind, only to have them look at me like I’m a freak for not assuming that they’re speaking to some invisible person.

My mama raised me better than that.

Please tell me that I’m not the only person who feels this way!

One response »

  1. You are not the only one! I haven’t worked in retail in 10 years, and I don’t think Bluetooth headsets were a problem them, if they were even in existence at all, so I don’t have that kind of horrible experience with them. But whenever I’m at the grocery store and someone is using one or I go by a restaurant and see someone with one in their ear while sitting with another person, I can’t help but think it is so ridiculous.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

