RSS Feed

Domesticity: Cleaning the microwave

This is probably the most boring blog post in the history of blogging, but here goes…

I’m not really the best house cleaner. As this blog proves, lolling about is my primary hobby. Cleaning really gets in the way of my lolling about time. So I try to the do the basic stuff (vacuuming, laundry, dusting) once a week or so. Deeper cleaning stuff like microwaves, fans, etc just don’t happen that often. Maybe once every 3 years. I know, I’m terrible.

A few weeks ago I saw a tip on Pinterest for cleaning your microwave. Fill a microwave-safe bowl with some water and a tablespoon or so (why measure?!) of vanilla. Put the lovely smelling liquid in the microwave and turn on for two minutes. Let it sit for a minute or so and then wipe the inside of the microwave down. The water creates steam and the vanilla makes it not smell like three years worth of microwave splatter. Worked like a charm.

Although I admit, I did re-microwave a couple of times. Once to make sure I got everything and another time just because I liked the smell.

Now who has any good tips on cleaning an oven?

3 responses »

  1. This is what I found on Pinterest for cleaning your oven: http://www.instructables.com/id/Cleaning-your-oven-without-poisonous-earth-destro/ We live in a rental and hadn’t deep-cleaned the oven in the 8 months we had lived there up until I did this, and I don’t even remember if it was super-clean when we moved in… but it definitely needed it. So I left the baking soda and vinegar on for an hour, and it took a bit of scrubbing, but my oven door and the bottom of the oven were awesomely clean. I didn’t try it on the sides, so I don’t know if the mixture will run, but it worked where it was able to sit.

    I’ll have to try your microwave tip. I’ve seen that floating around Pinterest too but haven’t done it yet.

    Reply
  2. My mom shared this trick with me, works awesome. I like the idea of adding vanilla to it to make it smell pretty 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

