RSS Feed

Foodie Friday: Orzo Salad

I have a really, really bad habit. I buy my lunch every day during the week. Which means I spend a lot of stupid money that I don’t need to. While some of the meals I eat aren’t too bad, others, like my Chick-fil-a addiction (they know me by name) aren’t so great.

The main reason I do this is because I really just need to get out of the office for that hour. I pick up my lunch and sit in my car and (nerd alert) read my Kindle and it makes me happy.

I’m hoping to start making large amounts of things on Sunday that I can pack up and eat 3 to 4 times through the week (Chick-fil-a will so still be happening sometimes), and this easy and yummy orzo salad is one of them. I might add some tuna to it for some protein, but the recipe is perfectly tasty as is.

Orzo Salad (I think it’s a Giada recipe originally)

  • 1 pound orzo pasta
  • 3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, plus 1/4 cup
  • 3/4 cup crumbled feta cheese
  • 1/2 cup dried cherries (or cranberries)
  • 12 fresh basil leaves, torn
  • 1/4 cup toasted pine nuts (sometimes I leave this out. Those suckers are not cheap)
  • 3 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Cook the orzo until al dente. Drain it, and then spread it out on a large sheet pan. Drizzle with 3 tbsp olive oil, stir gently, and set aside to cool.

Once the orzo is cool, transfer to a large serving bowl. Add the remaining ingredients and toss gently to combine. Season to taste. I often add more lemon juice, but it’s a personal preference.

Perfect for a picnic, as a side, or as something to allow your mornings to remain a little lazy during the week.

4 responses »

  1. I do the same as you, I must need to get out of the office. I cant wrap around the idea of making myself lunch everyday. but your idea doesnt sound bad at all.
    thank you for sharing.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Foodie Friday: Asian Noodle Salad « lollingabout

  3. Pingback: Foodie Friday: Herb Aioli « lollingabout

  4. Pingback: Foodie Friday: Spring Green Orzo « lollingabout

Leave a Reply

