RSS Feed

Foodie Friday: Black eyed pea hummus

My husband is a fan of hummus. I am too, just not to the extent that he is. I appreciate a good hummus, but I don’t crave it. Since we’ve been married I picked up a classic hummus recipe from the kitchen bible, How to Cook Everything. If you want a classic, this is it. I’ve had hummus snobs beg me for this recipe.

A few months ago we were out and ordered an appetizer which came with a black eyed pea hummus. When I saw it on the menu I was intrigued, but after tasting it, I was hooked. Instantly I knew I needed to learn to make it. Upon arriving home (we were out of town) the first thing I made was a black eyed pea hummus. This is a very easy rift off the classic recipe.

Black Eyed Pea Hummus

1 can black eyed peas, drained but juices reserved

2-3 tablespoons tahini

2-3 tablespoons olive oil

juice of 1 lemon

2 garlic cloves, minced

cumin

salt

dash of cayenne

In your food process add black eyed peas, tahini, garlic, olive oil, and spices to your liking. Blend.  Add a little water to your reserved juices. As the mixture blends, pour in a little juice/water to thin to your desired consistence. Garnish with a swirl of olive oil and a dash of paprika and/or cumin.  Serve with pita chips.

 

One response »

  1. Pingback: Preserved « lollingabout

Leave a Reply

