RSS Feed

Weekend Update: Granola Bars

Posted on

I’ve been making breakfasts for us for over a month now. I had been eating LARA bars, but they aren’t an option for Josh, since they all have nuts. Poor Josh.

In fact, most breakfast options were either full of crazy chemicals, or full of nuts. So I decided to start making ours.

I’ve been trying out muffins and breakfast cookies, but this week… I think I found the magic recipe. In fact, when Josh tried one last night, he told me it was the best recipe I’d made so far, and that he would happily eat it every day. Also included were several moans of delight. I think we have a winner.

The beauty of this recipe is that we can really change the bar each week depending on which fruits and seeds we include Since I get sick of things pretty quickly, that’s a good thing.

The original recipe calls for a mix of corn syrup and maple syrup/honey. I’m not a huge fan of corn syrup, since that’s part of what we’re trying avoid. When reading the comments below the recipe however, a lot of people who completely left out the corn syrup had issues with the bar crumbling.

My solution?

Lyle’s Golden Syrup. This is a sugar cane syrup from the UK ,and while I was able to get it from our grocery store, Publix, I’m not sure how easy it would be for everyone else to find. Amazon does have it though, so it definitely doable. What this syrup does is give a buttery, toffee flavor to these bars that is ridiculously good. Some people did have good luck with molasses, but I’ll stick with my Lyle’s. I also left out all of the other sugar that the original recipe called for, and my bars are perfectly sweet.

Granola Bars (adapted from the smitten kitchen)

  • 1 2/3 cups quick rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 2 to 3 cups dried fruits and nuts (I used cherries, apricots, and flax seeds)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 8 tablespoons melted butter
  • 3 large spoonfuls of Golden Syrup (or about 1/4  cup other sticky sweetener)
  • 1 tablespoon water

Preheat oven to 350. Line an 8×8 pan with parchment paper, letting the paper hang over the sides, and lightly grease the paper.

Mix together dry ingredients, including fruit, in a large bowl. In another bowl, mix together all of the liquids and sweeteners. Stir the wet ingredients into the dry and combine well.

Press the mixture FIRMLY (so plastic wrap on top might help) into your pan and bake for about 40 minutes. When done, lift bars from pan with paper and let cool. Once they’ve cooled to room temperature, place uncut square into the fridge and let cool for an additional hour or so. This will help make the cutting process be less crumbly.

When sufficiently cooled, cut into desired size and wrap in plastic wrap.

 

Leave a Reply

