RSS Feed

Book Worm: What I’ve been reading lately

Allyn is a continuous, prolific reader. I love to read and always have, but tend to do my reading in spells. I’ll go six months of continuous reading, but then take the next six months or so off. Since July I’ve been in a reading spell. The husband is getting a little jealous. Reading to me is an escape and I’ve needed some escaping lately. Here’s what I’ve been reading:

The Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen. I picked this up at a used bookstore and couldn’t it put it down. Seriously, I finished it in about 24 hours which is unheard of for me when I am not at the beach.  It was an easy read, but not too “dumbed down” as many easy reads are.

Let’s Pretend this Never Happened by Jenny Lawson. Alright, so I did read this one back in April, but if you haven’t read it, get it now. Jenny’s funny outlook on life makes me feel better about mine. And thankful for my family… and that I don’t live in Texas.

The Last Gentleman by Walker Percy. I was feeling like an uneducated redneck after reading Garden and Gun magazine the last few issues for not having read anything by this Southern author. I was expecting something difficult to read, but it wasn’t.  I’m not really sure how to explain this book. In fact, I’m not sure I’ve totally digested yet one week later.  The Last Gentleman follows a young man who deals with his insecurities as he goes back to his roots and joins a new family.

An Uncommon Education by Elizabeth Percer. Confession: I saw this book when I was picking up The Last Gentleman at the library and liked the cover.  I wouldn’t say I judged the book by the cover, but it made me want to pick it up. I’m glad I did because I  really loved this book. The author has such a way with words that I cherished every little bit of this coming of age story. I might have cried at the end because it was ending, not because it was overly sad.

I just started Amor Towles’ Rules of Civility and am really enjoying it.

What have you been reading?

 

4 responses »

  1. I just downloaded Cleopatra by H. Rider Haggard. It was very inexpensive at Barnes and Noble. Am in the middle of hearing “Swiss Family Robinson” and just finished listening to Kipling’s “Rewards and Fairies” after listening to “Kim.” Am doing a retrospective of books I beloved books, via audio. Listening on iPhone via downloads from librivox.org.

    Reply
  2. I’ve been reading a tween series called “The Last Apprentice”. It’s been a really simple read, and I tend to enjoy easy reads.

    Reply
  3. I’ve read Jenny Lawson’s book, too- so awesome.

    I’m re-reading some Alice Munro short stories right now… they’ve been my faves since back in high school and I just can’t get enough of her stuff 🙂

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Wasted Wednesday: Hot Buttered Rum (Repost) « lollingabout

Leave a Reply

