RSS Feed

Lolling Reno: Bathroom Renovation

Bryan and I own a bungalow built in 1920. We’ve lived here for nearly 4 years and have been blessed to not have to do too much work to it. Besides replacing an appliance and doing some work in the backyard this past summer, we haven’t done anything other than paint a couple of rooms.

I’ve never liked the tile in the shower, but it was at the bottom of our to-do list. From the moment I first saw the house I had a minor kitchen reno in mind for about 3-5 years down the road. Unfortunately for me the grout in the shower has decided it didn’t like being there anymore and we had some serious concerns about water damage. So as of yesterday we started with a major bathroom renovation. I guess its not too major as we’re keeping the flooring, the sink, and the toilet. But it is major in the fact that we’ll be living without a shower (in a one bathroom house, no less) for nearly 2 weeks. Weeeeeeeeeee!

I’ll have a full report for you afterwards, but I thought you might like to see our before’s and some of my inspiration. Just humor me, okay?

Here’s what we’re working with:

This is from the doorway looking in. We have a shower, sink, radiator, toilet, and built ins surrounding the toilet.
We actually had the shower curtain made a few months after we moved in. This bathroom was also eggplant purple when we moved in and we painted it the blue that first year as well.

Here’s our sink area. There is a small cabinet/cubby type thing to the left of it beside the shower.


Here’s the toilet area. Not too much will change here.


Here’s another angle of the shower. It’s positioned a little weird, so we had to have a custom shower curtain made to accomodate that back end.

I can’t believe I’m about to show you this, but here goes…

The reason for this whole mess. Yeah, that towel rack in the middle of the shower is not at all functional. And the grout is some of the nastiest I’ve ever seen.


Here’s a look at the far end of the shower. I have to say, I kind of like having that shelf there. It comes in handy for all my woman shower products.

Now onto some inspiration! We wanted to keep the bathroom consistent with the age and the feel of the house.

Source: houzz.com via Rachel on Pinterest

 

I liked the light and openness of this bathroom. The tile is period correct and we were really thinking about going with the glass shower.

Source: houzz.com via Rachel on Pinterest

 

I’m not going to lie. When I first saw this one I simply said “meow!” The marble, the flooring, and the glass. It just does it for me.

Source: jwkstyle.blogspot.com via Rachel on Pinterest

 

This one is most true to the direction we’re heading. We are going with white subway tiles and are having marble added to the top and surrounding the tub and adding some wood treatment to the front of it to make it more built in.

I’m so excited to see progress happening. In a way I feel like we’re making this house just a little bit more ours.

I’ll keep you posted.

5 responses »

  1. I think your inspiration photos of gorgeous (meow indeed) and you have such a nice sized space to work with. I am already envisioning something beautiful.

    Reply
  2. Good luck with both redoing your shower and living without it for two weeks! Just think how great that first shower will feel when you get the redo done!!!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Lolling Reno: Bathroom Complete! « lollingabout

Leave a Reply

