Wasted Wednesday: Lemon Mint Juleps

Posted on

Ah, mint juleps. Probably the quintessential Southern cocktail. Envision rocking chairs on front porches and sweltering heat. Obviously you need something to cool you down and refresh you, and the mint julep is up to the task.

Add some lemon to that? Shoot, you’ve struck gold.

One of the most dangerous things about this drink is that once you’ve made the syrup, it’s way too easy to mix one up.

That, or the 3 shots of bourbon that each drink contains. No judgement. We love Four Roses Bourbon, for what it’s worth.

Lemon Mint Juleps (original here)

For the lemon mint syrup

  • 2 c sugar
  • 2 c water
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • ½ c lemon juice
  • 1 ½ c mint leaves

Combine water, sugar, and lemon zest in a small saucepan over medium high heat. Heat until boiling, stirring to dissolve sugar. Once the sugar is fully dissolved, remove from heat and add mint leaves. Let steep for 10 minutes. The strain into a bottle. Once the syrup has cooled completely, add the lemon juice and refrigerate.

For the cocktail

  • Ice
  • 6-8 mint leaves
  • 2 oz syrup
  • 3 oz bourbon (or 2 if you’re a wuss)

Muddle mint and and ice in a shaker. Add the syrup and bourbon and shake well. Pour into a tall glass over ice. Add a few mint leaves as garnish.

Drink. Enjoy. Repeat.

5 responses »

  1. oh yes. wasted wednesday, thirsty thursday, fried friday, saturated saturday… 😉

    Reply
  2. Oooooo! I’m making this! I even have fresh mint from my small container garden.

    Reply
    • You should! I have peppermint in my back yard that’s going crazy (about to overtake my poor rosemary) and it’s so nice to know that I grew it myself. It’s part of how I justify keeping a jar of the syrup in my fridge at all times. Ha.

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Wasted Wednesday: Peachy Keen « lollingabout

Leave a comment