Foodie Friday: Pumpkin Spice Coffee Creamer

In keeping with the fall theme that we apparently have going on this week, here’s a great recipe for a pumpkin spice coffee creamer that I’ve been loving! Coffee creamer is one of the dairy items that I refuse to give up, but I feel a lot better knowing that I’ve made my own out of quality ingredients. Plus, this way I can make it as creamy/sweet as I’d like!

I was out of pumpkin pie spice, hence the assortment of spice bottles in the photo above. I mixed together a quick batch of spice on my own, and now I’m set for a while. This is a very good thing, since I have a feeling I’ll be making a lot of this coffee creamer.

Also, the recipe calls for a mix of whole milk and heavy cream. I just used half and half instead, but I’m thinking that this week I’m going to try it with just heavy cream. That way I won’t need to use as much on a daily basis, so one batch should last me longer.

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Creamer (recipe from here)

  • 1 c of organic whole milk
  • 1 c of organic heavy whipping cream
  • 3 tablespoons of organic pumpkin puree
  • 1 teaspoon of pumpkin spice
  • 4 table Maple Syrup
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

Whisk milk, cream, pumpkin, syrup, and pumpkin spice together over medium heat. When it gets steamy remove from heat and add in the vanilla. Use a strainer (very important!) to transfer the cream into a jar or pitcher. I used a few small mason jars, because I’m Southern and I always have plenty of those. Try not to drink a spoonful. Let it cool down and stick it the refrigerator.

Hooray for pumpkins!

4 responses »

  1. I love your site ! I would love to try this, but since I am not a coffee drinker, do you have some suggestions as to other ways a person could use this or any flavored creamer ? I have often wondered as I see these great special flavors in the supermarket. Any help or insight from anyone would be appreciated. Denise

    Reply
  2. This looks delicious! I was just trying to find some sort of recipe that I could whip up for a good pumpkin flavored coffee, I will definitely be trying this one.

    Reply
  3. i bet there’s enough carageenen and other thickeners in those store bought coffee creamers you could make “flavored whipped cream substitute” by using a stick blender or stand mixer.

    Reply

Leave a comment