Foodie Friday: Gather Round the Table

Pretty much since we got together, Josh and I have been looking for a big dining room table. We love to cook and entertain, and I have a large family, so we wanted something that could comfortably fit a lot of people and still suit our personal style. We kept finding ones we like at places like Restoration Hardware, but they tend to be in the $2,500-$3,000 range. Um, no thank you.

It’s become one of those things where one of us will sigh and say “one day…”

Then I came home yesterday, and this was sitting in the middle of the dining room:

To say that I was surprised is the understatement of the year. Josh is talented in many areas, but the most he had ever built for our house before was a small picture shelf. Not only had he built me a 7 ft long farm table, he had managed to keep it a secret too! Love him so much.

It still needs some finishing touches and we have to pick out a color to stain it, but I’m SO excited! I’ll definitely post more pictures once we have it all finished. Considering building some benches to go with it too.

Anyone else tackled a building project like this?

P:S: Josh used these plans from the incredible Ana White website, though he made ours a foot shorter to better fit our space. Our table wound up costing less than $100!

3 responses »

  1. Oh, it’s so nice when the husband makes you such a great surprise. It’s lovely how you write about him.

    Reply
  2. Wow that looks awesome! And under 100 bucks?? That’s what I’m talking about. We are currently in the same “someday….sigh….” stage but I am still trying to convince the husband that we CAN build one from Ana’s plans. I might (nay, WILL) leave this post open on the desktop now and be like “What that? Oh just a little diddy Josh built for Allyn.” Cough, cough… 😉

    My best, Lynn

    Reply
    • I love it! Honestly though, Josh had so little experience with carpentry that if he can do it, anyone can. He said he measured twice, measured again, cut, and still messed up a few times, but that’s okay! You guys can definitely do it.

      Reply

Leave a comment