Wasted Wednesday: Mojitos!

Posted on

Mojitos are my very favorite cocktail. I decided early on, in my drinking life that is, that they would be my signature cocktail. Every girl needs a signature drink.

I’ve tried various recipes at home, but they were all single serving glasses. When I’m chopping and squeezing limes I really don’t want to have to do this multiple times an evening. I’m a get-messy-once type of girl. It’s especially difficult after you’ve cut your finger cutting limes. True story, sadly multiple times. Lesson: It’s dangerous to use sharp objects after drinking inhaling alcohol.

Anyways, I was at a block party dinner a few weeks ago and my sweet neighbor graciously made a pitcher of some of the best mojitos I’ve ever had. I immediately asked nicely demanded the recipe.

Pitcher of Mojitos

  • 30 mint leaves
  • 5-10 limes juiced
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup sugar (depending on your sweet tooth)
  • 1 cup white rum
  • 2 cups club soda
  • Ice!

Directions:

Put mint leaves and lime juice in the bottom of your pitcher. Mash around for a little bit. You don’t want to chop or totally obliterate the mint, you just want to get the essence. Add in sugar and smush around again. Add rum and club soda. Add in a ton of ice. Add more club soda or rum as you see fit. Enjoy!

The beauty of this recipe is that it makes a whole pitcher. This will last me several days if I’m not sharing or one whole evening if I’m only sharing with the husb. It’s so easy you can make it and share with friends and then make another pitcher or two or three later on because you’ll need it.

4 responses »

  1. Emily Mahood Bowman

    Mojitos are my signature drink too! Only, I hate that a good number of bars I attend do not make them due to lack of mint. Seriously! How can you not have mint on hand at a bar!?

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Awesomania!

  3. Pingback: Mmmmm Mojitos! « Awesomania!

Leave a comment