Foodie Friday: Beer Battered Asparagus

Confession: I myself have never made these. Josh makes them for me. I’m spoiled.

The recipe includes a dipping sauce that’s mayo, lemon juice, zest and pepper, but we have never made it. We prefer ours drizzled with lemon juice and a sprinkling of sea salt. Then we inhale about a pound of them. Seriously. the first time Josh made them, he thought he had made way too many of them. Then he looked away for a second and I inhaled about half of them.

What can I say? As a true Southern girl, there’s nothing better to me than some good fried vegetables.

Beer-battered Asparagus

•1 cup all-purpose flour
•1 tsp salt
•1 Tbsp lemon zest
•1/4 tsp black pepper
•1 cup beer (We prefer Harp, but any lager would do)
•About 4 cups vegetable oil
•1 lb medium asparagus, trimmed
Combine flour, salt, zest, and pepper in a bowl, then add beer and whisk well.

Heat about 3 inches of oil in a 3-4 quart pan (we use my dutch oven), over medium high heat until hot. The recipe calls for 375, though I don’t think we even really measure the temperature.

Dip asparagus into batter, then drop into oil, no more than about 10 at a time, depending on the size of your pan. Stir gently to prevent them from sticking to each other. Fry until golden, about 2 to 3 minutes. Transfer to paper towels. Squeeze some lemon juice and sprinkle sea salt over them before serving.

One response »

  1. Yum! I love fried veggies too, these sound awesome

    Reply

Leave a comment