Foodie Friday: Quinoa Caprese Salad

I love caprese salad! And yet, I never order it as an appetizer since my husband hates tomatoes. Last week he was out of town for a few days and I made this salad. Does anyone else cook totally different when their spouse is out of town? The last time he was gone I ate tomatoes in some form or fashion everyday. It was glorious.

Okay, tangent over. Quinoa Caprese Salad. I’ve never cooked quinoa before and I couldn’t remember if I’ve ever had it, so I was a tad nervous trying this receipe out. But I figured if it had fresh tomatoes, mozzerella, basil, and balsamic vinegar it couldn’t be too bad. I was right! And I love it when I’m right!

Quinoa Caprese Salad
(Originally found here)

1 cup quinoa
1 pint grape tomatoes, sliced
1 english cucumber, sliced
6 oz fresh mozzerella cheese
1/4 cup fresh basil, chopped
1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
Black pepper

Cook quinoa according to directions. Let cool.
Slice your veggies and mix with quinoa. Toss with olive oil, balasmic vinegar, and pepper.

This seriously only takes about 15 minutes to make and it’s super healthy. Its going to be a husband-is-gone staple in my house!

5 responses »

  1. I am so loving how y’all keep posting recipes I like (or at least think I will)! I am usually such a picky eater and have to adapt recipes I find online. This one is another keeper though!

    Reply
  2. I loooove tomatoes and my husband hates them too. However, I can get him to eat carpese salad IF he doesn’t have to eat the seeds. It’s the seeds that weird him out the most about tomatoes.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Awesome Eats // Caprese Pasta Salad « Awesomania!

  4. Pingback: Pasta Salads « lollingabout

Leave a comment