Wasted Wednesday: Rosemary Lime Cocktails

Part of our Christmas dinner included a new cocktail. It was super tasty.

I love making cocktails when people come over. They’re somehow unifying, and making even a simple meal somehow a little special. I made this one a lot over the summer, and everyone loved it. They still talk about it. Makes me feel cool.

The real beauty of this is that I was able to make it all before everyone got to the house. I made half with vodka, like the recipe called for, and the other half with gin, which was super tasty and my personal favorite. Then I set it out in individual servings like so:

I then wrote on the lids with a dry erase marker whether it was the vodka or gin version, and let people pick what they wanted. The best part?  Guests could grab one and take it home with them. Which reminds me, I need to track those jars down…

Rosemary Lime Cocktails

  • Rosemary simple syrup (recipe below)
  • Vodka (or gin!)
  • Limes
  • Sparkling water

To make the syrup: combine 3-4 sprigs of fresh rosemary, 1 cup of sugar and 1 cup of water in a small saucepan. Bring to a boil until the sugar dissolves, then take off the heat and put a lid on it. Let it all steep together for about 30 minutes, then remove the rosemary. Let it cool.

Once cool, combine one shot of syrup, one shot of booze, and a few shots worth of sparkling water. Squeeze a wedge of lime in a mix well. Now, you could combine all of this over ice, or do like we did and put the individual jars in the fridge for a few hours.

Either way, enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Word of the Day: Alcoholiday « lollingabout

  2. Pingback: Wasted Wednesday: Grapefruit Rosemary Cocktails « lollingabout

Leave a comment