Foodie Friday: Roasted Vegetables

This is hardly a recipe. More like a reccomendation.

You trust me, right?

If any of you refuse to eat brussel sprouts, you need to change your mind now and make this.

I might have eaten thirds. Maybe.

Don’t judge.

One of the most popular things we cooked for our Christmas feast were brussel sprouts.

Now I’m even more obsessed with them than ever, and this combo is pretty dang fantastic.

Please try it. If you don’t like it, I’ll… well, I won’t do anything but be sad for you.

Roasted Brussel Sprouts and Friends

  • Brussel Sprouts
  • 1 butternut squash
  • 1 large yellow (sweet) onion
  • Olive oil
  • Salt (I love sea salt)
  • Freshly cracked pepper

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Line a cookie sheet with aluminium foil. Trim the outer leaves and bottoms of the sprouts and quarter them. Cut the squash into small pieces (I put mine in the microwave for about a minute to soften it before I ever attempt to cut it. I like my fingers and intend to keep them for a long time). Cut the onion into whatever sized pieces you’d like. Just not too small, or they’ll get burned.

Toss the veggies in olive oil and lots of salt and pepper, spread out on the cookie sheet and cooked for about 30 minutes, stirring once or twice while cooking. It’s done when the squash is tender and everything is delicious and amazing and life changing.

We served this with, well, I don’t remember. Probably a lamb chop or pork chop. I just remember eating lots and lots of this.

Leave a comment